Skip to content ↓
Dunstable Icknield Lower School

Dunstable Icknield Lower School

Early Years Foundation Stage

A revised National Curriculum has been implemented from September 2014. There has been significant educational change which we are well prepared for; we are comitted to meeting the requirement of the new primary curriculum.

Our curriculum maps have been updated to reflect the content and challenge of the new curriculum. Training has been provided to all members of staff to ensure that they are fully conversant with all changes.

We continue to provide the very best opportunities for learning. We follow a skills based approach to learning ensuring that the children make progress and build on prior learning as they move through the school.

We cover the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), Key Stage 1 and the early part of Key Stage 2.

The EYFS is the curriculum for children from birth to 5. At Dunstable Icknield Lower we recognise that all children are unique and that they learn and develop at different times and at different rates.

There are seven areas of learning within the EYFS. These are all related to each other; they are divided into Prime and Specific Areas.

Prime Areas

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

  • Making relationships
  • Self confidence and self awareness
  • Managing feelings and behaviour
  • Sharing and taking turns

Communication and Language

  • Listening and attention
  • Understanding what is being said
  • Developing vocabulary and speech

Physical Development

  • Being active and interactive
  • Develop co-ordination, control and movement, fine and gross motor skills
  • Health and self care

Specific areas


  • Linking sounds and letters
  • Beginning to read and write
  • Opportunities to access a wide range of reading materials


  • Learning about counting and numbers
  • Recognising the passing of time
  • Exploring measures, capacity, space and shape through play

Understanding the World

  • Making sense of the world by providing opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment

Expressive Arts and Design

  • Exploring and playing with a wide range of materials
  • Being imaginative, providing opportunities for the children to share their thoughts and ideas through art, music, dance, role play and design technology.

The areas of learning are organised to ensure that all children are able to make all round development.

By interacting the children build up their skills in the seven areas of learning. The teaching staff observe the children to see what they can do and how they approach learning, they then use this information to plan the next steps for learning. Learning takes place indoors and outdoors and wherever possible follows the children's interests. Teaching can be independent or directed in small or large groups, guided by an adult.

The learning experiences that the children have outside school are very important. In order to help your child learn their very best we promote and encourage partnership work. Talk to us about their learning at home and let us know those 'wow' moments when they show that they have learned something new. We will also share their learning with you.

Each week we let you know what the children will be learning via the school's learning platform. Once enrolled into school you will receive your child's log in details and password to access this information.